您在此处: Sterling » 案例研究:至关重要的紧急航材 (AOG) 物流

案例研究:至关重要的紧急航材 (AOG) 物流

在一个繁忙的冬日假期,一架大型商业客机停在加勒比某个热门旅游胜地的机场上,急需 AOG 物流服务。

335 位刚在加勒比海度完假的乘客登上巴哈马拿骚国际机场上的飞机,准备前往德国法兰克福。然而,由于辅助动力装置 (APU) 出现故障,飞机无法起飞。经过一番紧张的故障排除后,机械师得出结论,APU 的电子控制装置 (ECU) 需要更换。在没有 APU 提供空调的情况下,飞机已经在摄氏 30 度(华氏 86)的高温下停留了 2 个小时,航空公司被迫订购紧急航材 (AOG)。ECU 的作用是控制 APU,它是一种小型发动机,用于在飞机停在地面期间向飞机提供空调和电力,同时也用于启动飞机发动机。

拿骚机场是巴哈马最大的机场,也是进入加勒比地区的一个重要国际口岸。由于往返美欧目的地的乘客多达数千人,让一架大型商业客机停飞会带来巨大的物流挑战。安排一大批乘客的住宿和交通不仅费用高昂,而且非常耗时和极具挑战,且不说这种情况还会损害航空公司的声誉。为了尽可能减少收入损失并保护品牌形象,我们的客户迫切需要 ECU。由于当地没有供应商或现场库存,航空公司的 AOG 团队必须依赖其位于美国亚利桑那州凤凰城距离最近的供应商。

挑战:

在繁忙的冬日假期中向巴哈马一架停飞的飞机紧急递送 APU 电子控制装置。

运输方案

Sterling 的紧急航材帮助台在美国东部时间午夜(太平洋时间晚上九点)接到了航空公司 AOG 团队的电话,要求安排将 ECU 从亚利桑那州凤凰城送往拿骚。我们立即开始寻找快速安全的解决方案。

运送 ECU 最经济的方案是通过我们的航空快递运输产品。装置将会于次日 12 点 15 分到达拿骚机场。尽管通过下一趟航班运送部件可以实现快速送达,但是存在一定程度的风险,即货物抵达时间有可能会延误。在节日期间,乘客的行李和其他易腐品要优先于货物运输,因此会增加货物无法按预期抵达目的地的风险。考虑到此次紧急航材情况的风险非常高,客户需要更高级别的保障。

最安全的方案时让 Sterling 员工通过人工快递服务亲自将部件从供应商处全程护送到拿骚机场。Sterling 的专职快递人员能在接到电话 60 分钟内完成取件,然后登上下一趟航班并在亚特兰大转机,于东部时间次日 12 点前将部件交给等候在拿骚机场的工程师。

另一种既安全,也是目前为止最快的方案是 Sterling 的货运包机服务。从最初接到电话一个小时内完成取件,然后装上货运包机并马上起飞。预计到达时间是次日 6 点,这为航空公司争取了宝贵的 6 个小时用于安装装置,让飞机重新正常工作。

Sterling 解决方案

为了控制成本,同时确保最高水平的速度和监管,Sterling 团队又提出另一种方案:人工快递/货运包机组合解决方案。先通过专职快递/人工快递服务从亚利桑那凤凰城送往佛罗里达迈阿密,然后在迈阿密将部件装上小型包机并于凌晨飞往拿骚机场,在 10 点前抵达目的地。

解决方案的亮点:

快速、安全和经济有效的方案
Sterling 经验丰富的 AOG 团队擅长创建全面的物流解决方案,确保部件在预算之内按时交付。安全和速度对 AOG 至关重要,成本控制也是如此。Sterling 提供的人工快递/货运包机组合解决方案速度要快于常规的人工快递服务,又比凤凰城到拿骚的直达包机更经济实惠,而且还为我们的客户提供了高度的可靠性、可追溯性和赢利性。

在运输全程保持安全
335 位乘客滞留在拿骚机场,且飞机停飞会给我们客户的运营带来多米诺效应。因此,提供安全,有保障的紧急递送服务至关重要。在此情况下,Sterling 帮助避免了在运输过程误将部件卸载的潜在风险。从在凤凰城供应商处取件,一直到在巴哈马拿骚机场完成部件递送,Sterling 的专职快递员全程护卫货物的安全。

与航空界的长期合作关系
30 多年来,Sterling Global Logistics 一直向 OEM、MRO、FBO 和运营商提供支持。长期保持这种密切关系在加快递送过程中发挥了重要作用,因为这可以让 Sterling 直接与供应商沟通,甚至在下班后也不例外。在这个案例中,Sterling 能够在夜间安排从供应商处取件并在同一天登上飞机。

先进的追踪系统,监测货物的状态
通过 Sterling 先进的追踪系统监测货物,客户可了解货物的位置和状态,且系统可即时发送更新提醒或可能的延误信息。该系统使 Sterling 能够立即重新安排路线或制订应急计划。

总结:

Sterling 在关键的 AOG 情况下提供独特解决方案的专业能力为客户提供了一个快速,安全和经济的选择。ECU 在次日上午 10 点交给拿骚的工程师,且飞机在数小时后就能起飞重返蓝天。

You are here: Sterling » Case Study: Critical AOG (Aircraft on Ground) Logistics

Case Study: Critical AOG (Aircraft on Ground) Logistics

A large commercial airliner was grounded in a popular Caribbean destination during a busy winter holiday season, and was in urgent need of AOG logistics services.

335 passengers boarded the plane at Nassau International Airport in the Bahamas heading for Frankfurt, Germany from their Caribbean vacation. However, the plane was not able to take off due to an Auxiliary Power Unit (APU) failure. After intense troubleshooting, the mechanics concluded that the ECU, the APU's Electronic Control Unit had to be replaced. Already having spent 2 hours parked in 30 degrees Celsius heat/86 degrees Fahrenheit, without the air conditioning that the APU provides, the airline was forced to ground the aircraft (AOG). The ECU controls the APU, a smaller type engine that provides an aircraft with air conditioning and electrics while on the ground and is also being used to start up the aircraft engines.

Nassau Airport is the largest airport in the Bahamas and an important international gateway into the Caribbean. With thousands of passengers traveling from and to US and European destinations, grounding a large commercial airliner introduces great logistics challenges. Finding accommodations for a large group of passengers and arranging transportation is both costly, challenging and time consuming, not to mention that the situation tarnishes the airline's reputation. To minimize the loss of revenue and protect brand image, our client needed the ECU urgently. With no local suppliers or on-site stock, the airline's AOG Team had to rely on their closest supplier in Phoenix, Arizona.

Challenge:

To urgently deliver the APU Electronic Control Unit to the grounded aircraft in the Bahamas during the busy winter holiday season. 

Transportation Options

Sterling's AOG Desk received a call from the airline's AOG team at midnight EST (2100 Pacific time) to arrange the urgent delivery of the ECU from Phoenix, Arizona to Nassau. The search for fast and secure solutions began immediately.

The most economic option involved shipping the ECU via our Next Flight Out product. The unit would arrive at Nassau airport at 1215 the next day. Although shipping the part on the next available flight allows for expedited delivery, there is a certain degree of risk that the shipment's ETA might be delayed. During the holiday season, passenger baggage and other perishable commodities take priority over cargo, therefore increasing the risk of the shipment not reaching the destination when expected. With stakes so high in this AOG situation, the client needed a higher level of security.

The safest option was to have a Sterling employee personally escort the part from the supplier all the way to Nassau airport via a Handcarry service. Sterling's dedicated courier was available to pick up the part within 60 minutes from receiving the call, board the next available flight with a connection in Atlanta, and personally deliver it to the engineers waiting at Nassau airport by 1200 EST the next day.

Another secure and by far the fastest option was Sterling's Air Charter service. The part would be picked up within an hour from the initial call and then put onboard the charter aircraft with wheels up shortly after. The expected arrival time was 0600 the next day, gaining the airline 6 valuable hours to install the unit and get the aircraft operational again.

The Sterling Solution

To manage cost and still provide the highest level of speed and chain of custody, Sterling's team suggested yet another option: Handcarry/Charter hybrid solution -- using an On Board Courier/Handcarry service from Phoenix, Arizona to Miami, Florida, where it would be placed on a small charter plane and flown to Nassau Airport early morning to reach its destination by 10:00.

Solution highlights:

Fast, secure and cost-effective option
Sterling's highly experienced AOG team specializes in creating comprehensive logistical solutions that ensure that parts are delivered on time and within budget. Security and speed are crucial in an AOG situation, but so is managing costs. The Handcarry/Charter hybrid solution offered by Sterling was faster than the standard Handcarry service, yet more economical than a direct charter from Phoenix to Nassau, and it still maintained a high level of reliability, traceability and profitability to our client.

Security maintained throughout transit
With 335 passengers stranded at Nassau Airport and the domino effect a grounded aircraft can have on our client's operation, providing safe, secure and urgent delivery was paramount. In such situations, Sterling helps to eliminate the potential risk of offloading the part during the shipping process in error. Sterling's bonded courier personally safeguarded the shipment throughout the entire process, from pick up at the supplier in Phoenix, to delivery at Nassau Airport, Bahamas.

Longstanding relationships with the aviation community
Operating 24/7/365, Sterling Global Logistics' has been supporting OEMs, MROs, FBOs and Operators for over 30 years. These personal longstanding relationships play an important part in expediting the delivery process, as they allow Sterling to communicate with the suppliers directly, even after hours. In this case, Sterling was able to arrange the pick-up from the supplier late in the evening to be able to board the plane on the same day.

Sophisticated tracking systems that monitor your shipments
The customer was informed about the location and status of the shipment through Sterling's sophisticated tracking system that monitors shipments, sends alerts instantly with updates, or possible threat of delay. This system enables Sterling to reroute or make contingency plans immediately.

Summary:

Sterling's expertise in providing unique solutions to critical AOG situations provided the client with a fast, secure and profitable option. The ECU was handed to the engineers in Nassau at 10:00 next morning and the plane was ready for take off within just a couple of hours.